US Federal and State Prostitution Laws and Related Punishments


Presented below are federal laws on prostitution, state laws on prostitution, and Nevada county laws on prostitution. Prostitution is illegal in the United States with the exception of 10 Nevada counties. On Nov. 3, 2009, Rhode Island closed a legal loophole that had allowed indoor prostitution to exist since 1980. Most states punish the prostitute and the customer equally; however, nine states have harsher penalties for the customer (CO, KS, MA, MT, NE, NY, NC, TN, UT) and two have harsher penalties for the prostitute (DE, MN).

Federal Laws on Prostitution
Title Citation Excerpt Penalty
Inadmissible Aliens 8 USC 1182 "Any alien who-- (i) is coming to the United States solely, principally, or incidentally to engage in prostitution, or has engaged in prostitution within 10 years of the date of application for a visa, admission, or adjustment of status... is inadmissible." Denied admission into the US
Importation of Alien for Immoral Purpose 8 USC 1328 "The importation into the United States of any alien for the purpose of prostitution, or for any other immoral purpose, is forbidden." Up to 10 yrs and/or fine
General Military Law - Other Sexual Misconduct
10 USC 920c "Any person subject to this chapter who compels another person to engage in an act of prostitution with any person is guilty of forcible pandering and shall be punished as a court-martial may direct." As a court-martial may direct
Prostitution Near Military and Naval Establishments 18 USC 1384 "Within such reasonable distance of any military or naval camp, station, fort, post, yard, base, cantonment, training or mobilization place as the Secretary of the Army, the Secretary of the Navy, the Secretary of the Air Force, or any two or all of them shall determine to be needful to the efficiency, health, and welfare of the Army, the Navy, or the Air Force, and shall designate and publish in general orders or bulletins, whoever engages in prostitution or aids or abets prostitution or procures or solicits for purposes of prostitution, or keeps or sets up a house of ill fame, brothel, or bawdy house, or receives any person for purposes of lewdness, assignation, or prostitution... herein prohibited shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than one year, or both." Up to 1 yr and/or fine
Interstate and Foreign Travel or Transportation in Aid of Racketeering Enterprises 18 USC 1952 "Whoever travels in interstate or foreign commerce or uses the mail or any facility in interstate or foreign commerce, with intent to... otherwise promote, manage, establish, carry on, or facilitate the promotion, management, establishment, or carrying on, of any unlawful activity... shall be fined under this title, imprisoned not more than 5 years, or both." Up to 5 yrs and/or fine
Transportation Generally 18 USC 2421 "Whoever knowingly transports any individual in interstate or foreign commerce, or in any Territory or Possession of the United States, with intent that such individual engage in prostitution, or in any sexual activity for which any person can be charged with a criminal offense, or attempts to do so, shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than 10 years, or both." Up to 10 yrs and/or fine
Coercion and Enticement 18 USC 2422(a) "Whoever knowingly persuades, induces, entices, or coerces any individual to travel in interstate or foreign commerce, or in any Territory or Possession of the United States, to engage in prostitution, or in any sexual activity for which any person can be charged with a criminal offense, or attempts to do so, shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than 20 years, or both." Up to 20 yrs and/or fine
Coercion and Enticement 18 USC 2422(b) "Whoever, using the mail or any facility or means of interstate or foreign commerce, or within the special maritime and territorial jurisdiction of the United States knowingly persuades, induces, entices, or coerces any individual who has not attained the age of 18 years, to engage in prostitution or any sexual activity for which any person can be charged with a criminal offense, or attempts to do so, shall be fined under this title and imprisoned not less than 10 years or for life." 10 years-to-life and fine
Filing Factual Statement about Alien Individual 18 USC 2424 "Whoever keeps, maintains, controls, supports, or harbors in any house or place for the purpose of prostitution, or for any other immoral purpose, any individual, knowing or in reckless disregard of the fact that the individual is an alien, shall file with the Commissioner of Immigration and Naturalization a statement in writing setting forth the name of such individual, the place at which that individual is kept, and all facts as to the date of that individual's entry into the United States, the port through which that individual entered, that individual's age, nationality, and parentage, and concerning that individual's procuration to come to this country within the knowledge of such person; and [w]hoever fails within five business days... to file such statement concerning such alien individual with the Commissioner of Immigration and Naturalization; or knowingly and willfully states falsely or fails to disclose... any such alien individual... Shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than 10 years, or both." Up to 10 yrs and/or fine
Character Investigations 25 USC 3207 "The minimum standards of character that are to be prescribed under this section shall ensure that none of the individuals appointed to positions described in subsection (a) of this section have been found guilty of, or entered a plea of nolo contendere or guilty to, any felonious offense, or any of two or more misdemeanor offenses, under Federal, State, or tribal law involving crimes of violence; sexual assault, molestation, exploitation, contact or prostitution; crimes against persons; or offenses committed against children." Denied employment
Registration Determinations 29 USC 1813 "In accordance with regulations, the Secretary may refuse to issue or renew, or may suspend or revoke, a certificate of registration (including a certificate of registration as an employee of a farm labor contractor) if the applicant or holder... has been convicted within the preceding five years... [of] prostitution." Denied a certificate of registration
Title Citation Excerpt Penalty


State Laws on Prostitution (All 50 states and DC)
State Penalty for Prostitute
(crime classification)
Penalty for Customer
(crime classification)
Citation
Alabama Up to 1 yr and/or $6,000
(Class A misdemeanor)
Up to 1 yr and/or $6,000
(Class A misdemeanor)
13A.12.120 to 13A.12.122, Code of Alabama
Alaska Up to 10 days and/or $2,000
(Class B misdemeanor)
Up to 10 days and/or $2,000
(Class B misdemeanor)
AS.11.66.100, Alaska Statutes 2017
Arizona 1st offense: 15 days to 6 months and/or up to $2,500
2nd offense: 30 days to 6 months and/or up to $2,500
3rd offense: 60 days to 6 months and/or up to $2,500
4+ offenses: 180 days to 2.5 yrs and/or up to $150,000
(1st, 2nd and 3rd offenses: class 1 misdemeanor, 4+ offenses: class 5 felony)
1st offense: 15 days to 6 months and/or up to $2,500
2nd offense: 30 days to 6 months and/or up to $2,500
3rd offense: 60 days to 6 months and/or up to $2,500
4+ offenses: 180 days to 2.5 yrs and/or up to $150,000
(1st, 2nd and 3rd offenses: class 1 misdemeanor, 4+ offenses: class 5 felony)
13-3208 to 13-3214, Arizona Revised Statutes
Arkansas 1st offense: up to 90 days and/or up to $1,000
2+ offenses: up to 1 year and/or up to $2,500
(1st offense: class B misdemeanor, 2+ offenses class A misdemeanor)
1st offense: up to 30 days and/or up to $2,000
2+ offenses: up to 1 yr and/or up to $3,500
(Unclassified misdemeanors)
5-70-102 to 5-70-103, Code of Arkansas
California Up to 6 months and/or $1,000
(Misdemeanor)
Up to 6 months and/or $1,000
(Misdemeanor)
Part 1, Title 15, Chapter 2, 647, Penal Code of California
Colorado Up to 6 months and/or up to $750
(Class 3 misdemeanor)
Up to 18 months and/or $5,000
(Class 1 misdemeanor)
18-7-201 and 18-7-205, Colorado Revised Statutes
Connecticut Up to 1 yr and/or up to $2,000
(Class 1 misdemeanor)
Up to 1 yr and/or up to $2,000
(Class 1 misdemeanor)
Sec. 53a-82, Sec. 53a-83, Sec. 53a-83a, Connecticut General Statutes
Delaware Up to 6 months and $1,150
(Class B misdemeanor)
Up to 30 days and $500
(Misdemeanor)
Title 11, Ch.5, Sub.Ch.8, Sec. 1342 and 1343, Delaware Code
DC 1st offense: up to 90 days and/or $500
2nd offense: up to 180 days and/or $1,000
3+ offenses: up to 2 years and/or $12,500
1st offense: up to 90 days and/or $500
2nd offense: up to 180 days and/or $1,000
3+ offenses: up to 2 years and/or $12,500
22–2701, Code of DC
Florida 1st offense: up to 60 days and/or $500
2nd offense: up to 1 year and/or $1,000
3+ offenses: up to 5 years and/or $5,000
(1st offense: misdemeanor of the second degree, 2nd offense: misdemeanor of the first degree, 3+ offense: felony of the third degree)
1st offense: up to 60 days and/or $500
2nd offense: up to 1 year and/or $1,000
3+ offenses: up to 5 years and/or $5,000
(1st offense: misdemeanor of the second degree, 2nd offense: misdemeanor of the first degree, 3+ offense: felony of the third degree)
796.07, Florida Statutes
Georgia Up to 1 yr and/or up to $1,000
(Misdemeanor)
Up to 1 yr and/or up to $1,000
(Misdemeanor)
O.C.G.A. § 16-6-9, Georgia Code
Hawaii 1st offense: Up to 30 days and/or between $500 and $1,000
2+ offenses: 30 days and a fine between $500 and $1,000
(Petty misdemeanor)
1st offense: Up to 30 days and/or between $500 and $1,000
2+ offenses: 30 days and a fine between $500 and $1,000
(Petty misdemeanor)
§712-1200, Hawaii Revised Statutes
Idaho 1st and 2nd offenses: Up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000
3+ offenses: up to 5 years, and/or up to $50,000
(1st and 2nd offenses: misdemeanor, 3+ offenses: felony)
1st and 2nd offenses: Up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000
3+ offenses: up to 5 years, and/or up to $50,000
(1st and 2nd offenses: misdemeanor, 3+ offenses: felony)
18-5613 and 18-5614, Idaho Statutes
Illinois Up to 1 yr and up to $2,500
(Class A misdemeanor)
Up to 1 yr and up to $2,500
(Class A misdemeanor)
720 ILCS 5 Sec. 11-14 and Sec. 11-14.1, Illinois Compiled Statutes
Indiana 1st and 2nd offenses: up to 1 yr and up to $5,000
3+ offenses: 6 months to 2.5 years and up to $10,000
(1st and 2nd offenses: class A misdemeanor, 3+ offenses: level 6 felony)
1st and 2nd offenses: up to 1 yr and up to $5,000
3+ offenses: 6 months to 2.5 years and up to $10,000
(1st and 2nd offenses: class A misdemeanor, 3+ offenses: level 6 felony)
IC 35-45-4-2 and IC 35-45-4-3, Indiana Code
Iowa Up to 2 yrs and between $625 and $6,250
(Aggravated misdemeanor)
Up to 2 yrs and between $625 and $6,250
(Aggravated misdemeanor)
725.1, Iowa Code
Kansas Up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000
(Class B person misdemeanor)
1st offense: Up to 1 yr and between $1,200 and $5,000
2+ offenses: between 11 and 13 months and between $1,200 and $5,000
(1st offense: class A person misdemeanor, 2+ offenses: severity level 9 person felony)
21-6419 and 21-6421, Kansas Statute
Kentucky Up to 90 days and/or up to $250
(Class B misdemeanor)
Up to 90 days and/or up to $250
(Class B misdemeanor)
529.020, Kentucky Revised Statutes
Louisiana 1st offense: Up to 6 months and/or $500
2nd offense: Up to 2 yrs with or without hard labor, and/or between $250 and $2,000
3+ offenses: Up to 4 yrs with or without hard labor, and/or between $500 and $4,000
1st offense: Up to 6 months and/or $500
2nd offense: Up to 2 yrs with or without hard labor, and/or between $250 and $2,000
3+ offenses: Up to 4 yrs with or without hard labor, and/or between $500 and $4,000
14:82, Louisiana Revised Statutes
Maine 1st offense: Up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000
2+ offenses: Up to 1 yr and up to $2,000
(1st offense: class E crime, 2+ offenses: class D crime)
1st offense: Up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000
2+ offenses: Up to 1 yr and up to $2,000
(1st offense: class E crime, 2+ offenses: class D crime)
17A-851, 17A-853-A,17A-853-B, Maine Revised Statutes
Maryland Up to 1 yr and/or up to $500
(Misdemeanor)
Up to 1 yr and/or up to $500
(Misdemeanor)
§11–306, Code of Maryland (Statutes)
Massachusetts Up to 1 yr and/or up to $500 Up to 2.5 yrs and/or between $1,000 and $5,000 Ch. 272, §53A(a) and(b),General Laws of Massachusetts
Michigan 1st offense: up to 93 days and/or up to $500
2nd offense: up to 1 yr and/or up to $1,000
3+ offences: up to 2 yrs and/or up to $2,000
(1st and 2nd offenses: misdemeanor, 3+ offenses: felony)
1st offense: up to 93 days and/or up to $500
2nd offense: up to 1 yr and/or up to $1,000
3+ offences: up to 2 yrs and/or up to $2,000
(1st and 2nd offenses: misdemeanor, 3+ offenses: felony)
750.448 and 750.449a, Michigan Compiled Laws
Minnesota 1st offense: up to 90 days and/or up to $1,000
2+ offenses: up to 1 yr and/or up to $3,000
(1st offense: misdemeanor, 2+ offenses: gross misdemeanor)
1st offense: $500+ and/or community service
2+ offenses: $1,500+ and 20 hrs community service
(1st offense: misdemeanor, 2+ offenses: gross misdemeanor)
609.324, 2017 Minnesota Statutes
Mississippi Up to 6 months and/or up to $200
(Misdemeanor)
1st offense: up to 6 months and/or up to $200
2+ offenses: up to 2 yrs and/or $1,000
(1st offense: misdemeanor, 2+ offenses: felony)
§97-29-49 and §97-29-51, Mississippi Code
Missouri 1st and 2nd offenses: up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000
3+ offenses: up to 4 yrs and/or up to $10,000
(1st and 2nd offenses: class B misdemeanor, 3+ offenses: class E felony)
1st and 2nd offenses: up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000
3+ offenses: up to 4 yrs and/or up to $10,000
(1st and 2nd offenses: class B misdemeanor, 3+ offenses: class E felony)
567.020, 567.030, and 567.110, Revised Statutes of Missouri
Montana Up to 6 months and/or $500 1st offense: up to 1 yr and/or up to $1,000
2+ offenses: up to 5 yrs and/or up to $10,000
45-5-601, Montana Code Annotated 2017
Nebraska 1st and 2nd offense: up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000
3+ offenses: up to 1 yr and/or up to $1,000
(1st and 2nd offenses: class II misdemeanor, 3+ offenses: class I misdemeanor)
1st offense: up to 1 yr and/or between $250 and $1,000
2+ offenses: Up to 2 yrs and/or between $500 and $10,000
(1st offense: class I misdemeanor, 2+ offenses: class IV felony)
28-801 and 28-801.01, Nebraska Revised Statutes
Nevada
Prostitution is legal in 10 Nevada counties. See below for more information.
Up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000 and/or community service of up to 200 hours
(Misdemeanor)
Up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000 and/or community service of up to 200 hours
(Misdemeanor)
201.354 Nevada Revised Statutes
New Hampshire Up to 1 yr and/or up to $2,000
(Misdemeanor)
Up to 1 yr and/or up to $2,000
(Misdemeanor)
645:2, New Hampshire Statutes
New Jersey 1st offense: up to 6 months and a fine
2+ offenses: up to 18 months and a fine
(1st offense: disorderly person offense, 2+ offenses: crime of the fourth degree)
1st offense: up to 6 months, a fine, and participation in the 'Prostitution Offender Program'
2nd and 3rd offense: up to 18 months and a fine
4+ offenses: between 3 and 5 yrs and a fine
(1st offense: disorderly person offense, 2nd and 3rd offense: crime of the fourth degree, 4+ offenses: crime of the third degree)
2C:34-1 and 2C:34-1.2, New Jersey Statutes
New Mexico 1st offense: up to six months and/or $500
2+ offenses: up to 1 year and/or $1,000
(1st offense: petty misdemeanor, 2+ offenses: misdemeanor)
1st offense: up to six months and/or $500
2+ offenses: up to 1 year and/or $1,000
(1st offense: petty misdemeanor, 2+ offenses: misdemeanor)
30-9-2 and 30-9-3, New Mexico Statutes and Court Rules
New York Up to 3 months and up to $500
(Class B misdemeanor)
Up to 1 yr and up to $1,000
(Class A misdemeanor)
Article 230, New York Penal Code
North Carolina 1st offense: 12 months' probation and a fine to be determined by the court
2+ offenses: up to 120 days and a fine to be determined by the court
(Class 1 misdemeanor)
1st offense: up to 60 days and a fine to be determined by the court
2+ offenses: at least 8 months and a fine determined by the court
(1st offense: Class A1 misdemeanor, 2+ offenses: Class G Felony)
14-203 and 14-204 and 14-205.2, North Carolina General Statutes
North Dakota Up to 30 days and/or $1,500
(Class B misdemeanor)
1st offense: up to 30 days and/or $1,500 and/or participation in an offender education program
2+ offenses: up to 360 days and/or $3,000
(1st offense: class B misdemeanor, 2+ offenses: class A misdemeanor)
12.1-29-03 and 12.1-29-06, North Dakota Century Code
Ohio Up to 60 days and/or up to $500 and/or up to 200 hours community service
(Misdemeanor of the third degree)
Up to 60 days and/or up to $500 and/or up to 200 hours community service
(Misdemeanor of the third degree)
2907.24 and 2907.25, Ohio Revised Code
Oklahoma 1st offense: 30 days to 1 yr and/or up to $2,500 and/or between 40-80 hours community service
2nd offense: 30 days to 1 yr and/or up to $5,000 and/or between 40-80 hours community service
3+ offenses: 30 days to 1 yr and/or up to $7,500 and/or between 40-80 hours community service
(Misdemeanor)
1st offense: 30 days to 1 yr and/or up to $2,500 and/or between 40-80 hours community service
2nd offense: 30 days to 1 yr and/or up to $5,000 and/or between 40-80 hours community service
3+ offenses: 30 days to 1 yr and/or up to $7,500 and/or between 40-80 hours community service
(Misdemeanor)
21-1029 and 21-1031, Oklahoma Statutes
Oregon Up to 364 days and/or between $100 and $6,250 and/or community service of up to 160 hours
(Class A misdemeanor)
Up to 364 days and/or between $100 and $6,250 and/or community service of up to 160 hours
(Class A misdemeanor)
167.007 and 167.008, Oregon Revised Statutes
Pennsylvania 1st and 2nd offense: up to 1 yr and/or up to $2,500
3rd offense: up to 2 yrs and/or up to $5,000
4+ offenses: up to 5 yrs and/or $10,000
(1st and 2nd offense: misdemeanor of the third degree, 3rd offense: misdemeanor of the second degree, 4+ offenses: misdemeanor of the first degree)
1st and 2nd offense: up to 1 yr and/or up to $2,500
3rd offense: up to 2 yrs and/or up to $5,000
4+ offenses: up to 5 yrs and/or $10,000
(1st and 2nd offense: misdemeanor of the third degree, 3rd offense: misdemeanor of the second degree, 4+ offenses: misdemeanor of the first degree)
5902, Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes
Rhode Island 1st offense: up to 6 months and/or between $250 and $1,000
2+ offenses: up to 1 yr and/or between $500 and $1,000
(Misdemeanor)
1st offense: up to 6 months and/or between $250 and $1,000
2+ offenses: up to 1 yr and/or between $500 and $1,000
(Misdemeanor)
11-34.1-2 and 11-34.1-3, State of Rhode Island General Laws
South Carolina 1st offense: up to 30 days and/or up to $200
2nd offense: up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000
3+ offenses: not less than 1yr and/or up to $3,000
1st offense: up to 30 days and/or up to $200
2nd offense: up to 6 months and/or up to $1,000
3+ offenses: not less than 1yr and/or up to $3,000
16-15-90, 16-15-100 and 16-15-110, South Carolina Code of Laws
South Dakota 1 yr and/or $2,000
(Class 1 misdemeanor)
1 yr and/or $2,000
(Class 1 misdemeanor)
22-23-1 and 22-23-9, Codified Laws
Tennessee Up to 6 months and/or up to $500
(Class B misdemeanor)
Up to 11 months and 29 days and/or up to $2,500
(Class A misdemeanor)
39-13-513 and 39-13-514, Tennessee Code
Texas 1st offense: up to 180 days and/or up to $2,000
2nd and 3rd offense: up to 1 yr and/or up to $4,000
4+ offenses: between 180 days and 2 yrs and up to $10,000
(1st offense: Class B misdemeanor, 2nd and 3rd offense: Class A misdemeanor, 4+ offenses: state jail felony)
1st offense: up to 180 days and/or up to $2,000
2nd and 3rd offense: up to 1 yr and/or up to $4,000
4+ offenses: between 180 days and 2 yrs and up to $10,000
(1st offense: Class B misdemeanor, 2nd and 3rd offense: Class A misdemeanor, 4+ offenses: state jail felony)
43.02, Texas Statutes - Penal Code
Utah 1st offense: up to 6 months and up to $1,000
2+ offenses: up to 1 yr and up to $2,500
(1st offense: class B misdemeanor, 2+ offenses: class A misdemeanor)
1st and 2nd offense: up to 1 yr and $2,500
3+ offenses: up to 5 yrs and $5,000
(1st and 2nd offense: class A misdemeanor, 3+ offenses: third degree felony)
76-10-1302 and 76-10-1303, Utah Code
Vermont 1st offense: up to 1 yr or up to $100
2+ offenses: up to 3 yrs
1st offense: up to 1 yr or up to $100
2+ offenses: up to 3 yrs
2631 and 2632, Vermont Statutes
Virginia Up to 1 yr and/or up to $2,500
(Class 1 misdemeanor)
Up to 1 yr and/or up to $2,500
(Class 1 misdemeanor)
18.2-346, Code of Virginia
Washington Up to 90 days and/or up to $1,000
(Misdemeanor)
Up to 90 days and/or up to $1,000
(Misdemeanor)
9A.88.030 and 9A.88.110, Revised Code of Washington
West Virginia Between 60 days and 6 months and between $50 and $100 1st offense: between 60 days and 6 months and between $50 and $100
2nd offense: between 6 months and 1 yr and between $100 and $250
3+ offenses: between 1 yr and 3 yrs
§61-8-5, West Virginia Code
Wisconsin Up to 9 months and/or up to $10,000
(Class A misdemeanor)
1st and 2nd offense: up to 9 months and/or up to $10,000
3+ offenses: up to 3 yrs and 6 months and/or up to $10,000
(1st and 2nd offense: class A misdemeanor 3+ offenses: class I felony)
944.30 and 944.31, Wisconsin Statutes
Wyoming Up to 6 months and/or up to $750
(Misdemeanor)
Up to 6 months and/or up to $750
(Misdemeanor)
6-4-101 and 6-4-102, Wyoming Statutes
State Penalty for Prostitute
(crime classification)
Penalty for Customer
(crime classification)
Citation



Nevada County Laws on Prostitution
According to Nevada state law it is unlawful for any person to engage in prostitution or solicitation except in a licensed house of prostitution [NRS 201.354]. Brothels are not permitted in a county whose population is 700,000 or more [NRS 244.345]. All prostitutes must use condoms [NAC 441A.805] and be tested weekly for sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) and monthly for HIV [NAC 441A.800].

County
(Population)
Legal Status Largest City Citation
Carson City
(54,745)
Illegal Carson City County Code, Title 8, Chapter 8.04.110
Churchill County
(24,230)
Legal Fallon City County Code, Title 5, Chapter 5.20
Clark County
(2,204,079)
Illegal Las Vegas County Code, Title 12, Chapter 12.08
Douglas County
(48,309)
Illegal Gardnerville Ranchos County Code, Title 9, Chapter 9.20
Elko County
(52,649)
Legal* Elko County Code, Title 7, Chapter 1.6
Esmeralda County
(850)
Legal Goldfield Ordinance 154
Eureka County
(1,961)
Illegal Eureka County Code, Title 6, Chapter 60
Humboldt County
(16,826)
Legal* Winnemucca County Code, Title 5, Chapter 5.08
Lander County
(5,693)
Legal Battle Mountain County Code, Title 5, Chapter 5.16
Lincoln County
(5,223)
Illegal Calientes County Code, Title 7, Chapter 2
Lyon County
(54,122)
Legal Fernley County Code, Title 5, Chapter 3
Mineral County
(4,457)
Legal Hawthorne County Code, Title 5, Chapter 5
Nye County
(44,202)
Legal Pahrump County Code, Title 9, Chapter 9.20
Pershing County
(6,508)
Illegal Lovelock County Code, Title 9, Chapter 9.08
Storey County
(4,006)
Legal Virginia City County Code, Title 5, Chapter 5.16
Washoe County
(460,587)
Illegal Reno County Code, Chapter 50.238, 53.170, 25
White Pine County
(9,592)
Legal* Ely County Code, Title 10, Chapter 10.36; Title 17, Chapter 17.60
County
(population)
Legal Status Largest City Citation
* in incorporated areas of the county only.